Led Zeppelin DVD review

Led Zeppelin DVD
I’ve just bought the Led Zeppelin DVD and what a great purchase it is. For around £15 from Virgin Megastore it has 5 hours of footage on two DVD’s – good value, for a start, and it comes in a decent box with a couple of colour brochures (albeit only a few pages each).

The first DVD mostly contains footage from their concerts at the Royal Albert Hall in 1970. Both are excellent quality and are made up of professional quality footage as well as clips gathered from various bootlegs in the audience. Considering how old the sound and video must be they’re both really good quality. The second DVD is from Earls Court in 1975 and Knebworth in 1979 and contains quite a few tracks from Physical Graffiti. The acoustic set of “Going To California”, “That’s The Way” and
“Bron-Y-Aur Stomp” show the low-volume side of Zeppelin which non fans probably aren’t aware of. From Knebworth, “In my time of dying” and “Trampled Underfoot” are both really good, and even “Kashmir” translated better to a live setting that I would have expected. “Stairway to Heaven” is particularly good with an extended 12 string guitar solo. The finaled of “Whole Lotta Love” shows how the band can improvise a new direction and they end up in a funked up riff based around the song’s base chords.

Apart from the core live material from these three concerts there are a number of other clips from the rare TV appearances that Led Zeppelin made, but these are really just the extra’s for the DVD. It’s the concerts that really make this and for anyone with any interest in Led Zeppelin this is a must.

Disc One

  • We’re Gonna Groove
  • I Can’t Quit You Baby
  • Dazed And Confused
  • White Summer
  • What Is And What Should Never Be
  • How Many More Times
  • Moby Dick
  • Whole Lotta Love
  • Communication Breakdown
  • C’mon Everybody
  • Something Else
  • Bring It On Home

Disc One

  • Immigrant Song
  • Black Dog
  • Misty Mountain Hop
  • Since I’ve Been Loving You
  • The Ocean
  • Going To California
  • That’s The Way
  • Bron-Y-Aur Stomp
  • In My Time Of Dying
  • Trampled Underfoot
  • Stairway To Heaven
  • Rock And Roll
  • Nobody’s Fault But Mine
  • Sick Again
  • Achilles Last Stand
  • In The Evening
  • Kashmir
  • Whole Lotta Love

The Led Zeppelin site

Reviews of the DVD

Buy the Led Zeppelin DVD on Amazon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *